Whisky Advocate’s 22nd Annual Awards

The Whisky Advocate Awards exist to recognize excellence in the world of whisky. Now in its 22nd year, the program is about the world’s greatest whiskies and distilleries, and the individuals who make and promote them. As always, these awards are not simply assigned to the whiskies that get the highest ratings in our reviews. The winners might be the highest-rated, or they might instead be the most significant, or the most important, or represent a new direction for a category or niche.   

These awards are the oldest and longest-running annual whisky awards program. There is no fee, there are no entry requirements. We taste and sample over the course of the year, at year’s end we consider and confer, and then we make our decisions based solely on the merits of the whiskies…as we have done for over twenty years. 

We hope you enjoy the selections, and wish you the best in the coming year!

Craft Whiskey of the Year: Dad’s Hat Rye

American Whiskey of the Year: John E. Fitzgerald Very Special Reserve 20 year old

Canadian Whisky of the Year: Crown Royal 75th Anniversary (Monarch)

Irish Whiskey of the Year: Midleton Dair Ghaelach: Grinsell’s Wood

Japanese Whisky of the Year: Hibiki Harmony

World Whisky of the Year: Spirit of Hven Sankt Claus

Blended/Blended Malt Whisky of the Year: Blue Hanger 11th Limited Release

Islay Single Malt Whisky of the Year: Ardbeg Supernova 2015 Release

Speyside Single Malt Whisky of the Year: Tamdhu Batch Strength

Highlands and Islands Single Malt Whisky of the Year: Dalmore 21 year old

Lowlands and Campbeltown Single Malt Whisky of the Year: Springbank 17 year old Sherry Wood

Distiller: MGP Ingredients

Lifetime Achievement: Jim McEwan of Bruichladdich and Dennis Malcolm of Glen Grant

More From Awards