Whisky Advocate’s 21st Annual Awards

The Whisky Advocate Awards exist to recognize excellence in the world of whisky. Now in its 21st year, the program is still about the world’s greatest whiskies and distilleries, and the individuals who make and promote them.

As always, these awards are not simply assigned to the whiskies that get the highest ratings in our reviews. The winners might be the highest-rated, or they might instead be the most significant, the most important, or represent a new direction for a category or niche. The awards process is not, in short, a mere numbers-based formula. It is recognition of a combination of excellence, innovation, and tradition, as well as great-tasting whisky. Our Buying Guide reviewers reach a consensus on the awards.

These awards are the oldest and longest-running annual whisky awards program. We taste and sample over the course of the year, at year’s end we consider and confer, and then we make our decisions based solely on the merits of the whiskies…as we have done for over twenty years. We give you our word: that’s how it will continue to be. Enjoy!

Craft Whiskey of the Year: St. George Single Malt Lot 14

American Whiskey of the Year: Sazerac Rye 18 year old

Canadian Whisky of the Year: Canadian Club Chairman’s Select 100% Rye

Irish Whiskey of the Year: Midleton Very Rare 2014

Japanese Whisky of the Year: Ichiro’s Malt The Joker (Distilled at Hanyu)

World Whisky of the Year: Broger Burn Out

Blended/Blended Malt Whisky of the Year: The Last Drop 50 year old

Speyside Single Malt Whisky of the Year: Craigellachie 17 year old

Islay Single Malt Whisky of the Year: Signatory (distilled at Laphroaig) 1998

Highlands and Islands Single Malt Whisky of the Year: Arran The Devil’s Punchbowl III The Fiendish Finale

Lowlands and Campbeltown Single Malt Whisky of the Year: Rosebank 1992 21 year old (Diageo Special Release 2014)

Distiller of the Year: Beam Suntory

Lifetime Achievement Award: Colin Scott of Chivas Brothers and Duncan McGillivray of Bruichladdich

More From Awards